When the god of weather plays against the Bay Area

Not so long time ago I was writing about the importance of the suitcase when you relocate from Europe to the US. Well today let me tell you a real example of what happens when you don’t plan your packing well (or you do, but the god of weather plays against you). A real example that unfortunately I am suffering in the flesh right now.

Screen Shot of weather.com - temperature in San Francisco

Screen Shot of weather.com – temperature in San Francisco

While still in Munich (October) I checked the weather forecast for San Francisco. It was as expected: sunny days, no rain and warm temperatures (around 20 degrees Celsius during the day). With this information and expectations, I packed my two suitcases. Of course I took a coat with me (just in case) but it was a light one, the type of coat that I would use for autumn in Spain but would cause me hypothermia in Germany. Besides, I did not pack my German winter specials: gloves, hat and scarf. After all I was moving to warm California… wasn’t I?

IN NOVEMBER: I was happy, the temperatures warm during the day. Warm as in I literally could go out in short sleeve shirts; skirts, no stockings and even sandals. Then at around 4.30pm the day got darker, temperatures dropped and then I needed a jacket or a light coat. But even though the chilly night was bearable.

DECEMBER: then December came and I froze. The US National Weather Service has issued a Freeze Warning that includes the following potential consequences:

long durations of below freezing temperatures can kill crops and sensitive vegetation… harm outdoor pets and livestock… and possibly cause unprotected water pipes to burst.

There will also be an increased risk of hypothermia for those remaining outside overnight

While this icy cold temperatures are happening, my winter coat is in my container shipping the Atlantic ocean from Europe to San Francisco and will not arrive until mid/end December. So I’m freezing and I need to go shopping. The sad part is that even with a more thorough planning of my suitcase, I could have never foreseen this situation. Apparently these temperatures are unusual. Temperatures in San Jose fell to -1 degree on Friday morning, breaking the record for that date, which was set in 1904. (Source: The Star Tribune)

Are you also freezing in the San Francisco Bay area?

Leave a Reply

